GSFA Member County "Assist-to-Own" DPA

Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance for GSFA Member Counties Employees

New Down Payment Assistance — Available Now!

For employees of GSFA Member Counties purchasing or refinancing in California.


Golden State Finance Authority is excited to announce new homebuyer assistance for GSFA Member County Employees purchasing or refinancing a home in California. The GSFA Member County “Assist-to-Own” Program provides up to 5.5.% in down payment and closing cost assistance (DPA) combined with attractive First Mortgage interest rates.

Down payment assistance is often the biggest hurdle for homebuyers in California. GSFA homebuyer assistance is intended to help borrowers bridge this affordability gap and maybe even purchase sooner than they thought possible.

Program Highlights(1)

  • Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance, up to 5.5% of the First Mortgage Loan amount.
  • Homebuyer doesn't have to be a first-time homebuyer to qualify.
  • FICO Score requirements as low as 640.
  • Single-family 1-4 unit residences, condominiums and townhomes are eligible.
  • VVariety of Mortgage Loan options (FHA, VA, USDA and Conventional Mortgage Loans).
  • Available to County employees in 37 Counties (GSFA Member Counties).


Does the Assistance Have to be Repaid?

The primary assistance for GSFA Member County “Assist-to-Own” is provided in the form of a deferred Second Mortgage, sized at 3.5% of the First Mortgage loan amount. It has a zero percent interest rate, which means no interest is accrued on the Second Mortgage and no monthly payments are required. The Second Mortgage is due and payable upon sale or refinance of the First Mortgage.

Additional down payment and closing cost assistance is available in the form of a Gift, up to 2% of the First Mortgage Loan amount, for a total of 5.5% in down payment and closing cost assistance.


Who is Eligible?

To be eligible for the GSFA Member County “Assist-to-Own” DPA, borrowers must be employed by one of the GSFA Member Counties and purchase or refinance a primary residence in California.

GSFA Member Counties are as follows: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba Counties.


(1) The GSFA Member County "Assist-to-Own DPA is part of the GSFA Platinum Program. Certain restrictions apply on all programs. See a GSFA Platinum Participating Lender for complete program guidelines, current interest rates, loan applications, applicable fees and annual percentage rates (APRs.)


Back to top